Things I’m reading Thursday – The Diviners

First, can I just tell you how thoroughly annoyed I am that I can’t figure out how to underline just the title of the book, and not the whole blog post title? I don’t know if this is because I’m writing the post in Word (Bill Gates, you sly devil), or if it’s WordPress messing with me. So there’s that.

    Secondly, I have been hearing about this book for awhile now, but it wasn’t released until September 18th, so I basically stalked the Amazon website (as opposed to the Amazon River), until it was released so that I could buy it electronically. Oh technology, how I love thee.

    Now, on to the book:

    

    This book is so many kinds of awesome, I don’t even know if I can describe it. I will have to re-read it because I got sucked in to the story and read it too fast to catch all of the little details. Libba Bray has written several other books, and each one has been completely different than the last. Not just different characters, but actual different style, setting, and theme. Here’s what Amazon has to say about the book:

     Evie O’Neill has been exiled from her boring old hometown and shipped off to the bustling streets of New York City–and she is pos-i-toot-ly thrilled. New York is the city of speakeasies, shopping, and movie palaces! Soon enough, Evie is running with glamorous Ziegfield girls and rakish pickpockets. The only catch is Evie has to live with her Uncle Will, curator of The Museum of American Folklore, Superstition, and the Occult–also known as “The Museum of the Creepy Crawlies.” When a rash of occult-based murders comes to light, Evie and her uncle are right in the thick of the investigation. And through it all, Evie has a secret: a mysterious power that could help catch the killer–if he doesn’t catch her first.

    Evie is only sort of the main character. There is also Jericho, who works with her uncle; Theta and Henry, a Ziegfield girl and her piano playing roommate; Mabel, in love with Jericho; Sam, the pickpocket; and Memphis, a numbers runner in Harlem. They all become connected in the course of the story, and each has a bigger part in their fight against the killer. It is a little gory, but mostly it’s fantastically creepy and so, so good!

    If you don’t think you’re up for a ghost story, try Libba Bray’s Beauty Queens which is hilarious and touching and all about awesome girl power.

    Happy reading!

    

3 thoughts on “Things I’m reading Thursday – The Diviners

  1. I can’t figure out how to change the font of a blog post title either.
    Hey, I’m doing a task as part of “101 things in 1001 days” in which I ask 20 friends to each suggest one book and then I read those 20 books. I still need four more books to fill out my list. What book would you suggest?

    • Oh man… that’s a tough one. I’ve been reading A LOT lately. Have you read “Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil”? If you have, then how about “In the Woods”, which is Tana French’s first book. Did you have Mrs. Heyl for English? She went on and on about the first chapter of “The Scarlet Letter”, and I sort of feel the same about the first chapter of “In the Woods”, except I actually liked that book. 🙂

      • I can’t remember if I’ve read “Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil.” I vaguely recall thinking I should either before or after the movie was released. That doesn’t mean I actually did . . .To play it safe, I’ll opt for the book by Tana French.

Leave a Reply

