I’m famous!

    You guys, you guys, look! I’m famous! Ok….. not really. But I did participate in a mail art swap over the summer. We were given about six weeks to get our envelopes done and mailed, and the theme was “sweet”. We didn’t have to follow the theme, so I started with vintage hankies. I have a small collection, and I thought it would be neat to use the flap of the envelope as part of a hankie, with the other half draped over the front. I carved some flower and leaf stamps, and I was thinking that I could just stamp a square shape, and fold the paper into an envelope. I didn’t get very far with that idea, but I really liked carving the stamps. I tried to figure out what else I could do with the stamps. I thought about them for a very long time, made a huge mess all over my craft table, and still couldn’t come up with anything.

    I kept coming back to the theme, though. My absolute favorite summer dessert is strawberry shortcake, with strawberry pie as a very close second. I don’t mess around with those nasty pre-made fruit cup things that are usually stocked with the strawberries. I’m a dessert snob, I really am. But if you’ve ever tasted my shortcake, you wouldn’t go back to the pre-made things, either. The recipe I use is my grandma’s, and since she passed away this spring, I really wanted to share her recipe. So, I finally decided that I would carve a couple different sizes of strawberry stamps, and make a basket from card stock to paste over the stamped images. I also wrote out the recipe and sent it to each of my swapees. I’m so glad that I did because I got several emails back from the recipients telling me how much they loved the recipe. I’ll post it, if anyone is interested.

    Thanks, Grandma.

Leave a Reply

