Things I’m reading Thursday

The other day, when I was trying to think of something to write for my blog, I remembered that a lot of bloggers have theme days – like “Wordless Wednesday” or “Thirteen Things Thursday”. I don’t know why I never thought of doing the same, since it seems easier to write when I have an idea of what I want to write about. You’d think that I’d have endless fodder for blog stories, but for whatever reason, I can never seem to come up with something when I want to. Which is why the blog has been having huge dry spells. But now, I have a plan. I actually even had a picture for Wordless Wednesday, but I forgot all about it when I got home last night because Denver installed a dart board in his man cave, and I was obligated to kick his butt at Cricket. Which I did. It was awesome.

    Thursdays are going to be for me to talk about what I am currently reading, or have just finished reading. I read all the time, and I have checked books out of the library that I’ve read before, without remembering that I’ve read them until I start the first chapter and think “man, this seems familiar”. Maybe if I keep track of the books a little better, I won’t have this problem. There are thousands of books in the library – surely I can pick up something new the next time I go? So without further ado…..

    Broken Harbor, by Tana French

    This is Tana French’s fourth book, and it is just as wonderful as all of her previous books. Each book has a different main character, but all of those main characters are Detectives on the Dublin Murder Squad, so there are some recurring secondary characters in all of the books. And while it is accurate that each book involves a murder mystery, the books are really more character studies than mysteries. Here’s how Amazon describes Broken Harbor:

On one of the half-built, half-abandoned “luxury” developments that litter Ireland, Patrick Spain and his two young children are dead. His wife, Jenny, is in intensive care.

At first, Scorcher and his rookie partner, Richie, think it’s going to be an easy solve. But too many small things can’t be explained. The half dozen baby monitors, their cameras pointing at holes smashed in the Spains’ walls. The files erased from the Spains’ computer. The story Jenny told her sister about a shadowy intruder who was slipping past all the locks.

And Broken Harbor holds memories for Scorcher. Seeing the case on the news sends his sister Dina off the rails again, and she’s resurrecting something that Scorcher thought he had tightly under control: what happened to their family one summer at Broken Harbor, back when they were children.”

    I cannot say enough good things about this book. There are so many threads running through this book, and they aren’t all tied up neatly in the end, but that doesn’t detract from the story. The mystery is solved, but the main character is forever changed by the case. His future is uncertain. That’s part of what makes this book, and all of French’s books, so great. As a reader, I was very invested in the characters and what made them tick. It was fascinating. I could not put this book down!

You don’t have to start with In the Woods, French’s first book, but I think once you read one, you’ll want to read them all.

    Tell me what you think – have you read this book? Did you like it?

One thought on “Things I’m reading Thursday

  1. After a false start about a month ago, I finally began “In the Woods.” Love it so far, which is dangerous since I was tempted to stay up way too late reading it. It was hard to get into it the first time only because of interruptions from the little man. I think that’s why I spend so much time on books that are a quick, easy read. Thanks for recommending this one.

Leave a Reply

