Vacation, Gotta Get Away

    First, let me apologize for having gone walkabout. I wasn’t particularly busy, although I did get a few crafty things done. I just didn’t feel like I had anything interesting to say. (Some of you may think that I never have anything interesting to say, in which case, I have to wonder why you are reading this blog at all?) I did, however, have a birthday, and it made me suddenly feel quite old. So I’ve mostly been knocking around the sewing room, feeling sorry for myself, and knitting dish rag after dish rag like the little old lady that I have been feeling like. Then I realized that I was being silly – getting older is inevitable, and moping around the house certainly wasn’t making me any younger. So, here I am, getting older, but not dead yet!

 

    Last weekend, we took the boys to the Birmingham Zoo with some friends who have a son the same age as Toby (although he’s shorter than Mason). It turned out to be a perfect sort of day. It was very hot and humid, but the zoo is small, so we saw all of it in about two hours. We fed the lorikeets. I teased Toby that the birds were more interested in using his hair for a nest.

 

Mason posed as a gorilla. I’ve known all along that he was part monkey! (and for the record, yes, I know that a gorilla in not actually a monkey, but that’s the best gag I could come up with)

We were all caught in a rain storm, and decided to stand in the rain to catch the train instead of sitting under the awning, waiting for the next one. I’m not sure whose idea that was, but no one melted, and at least we all looked equally bedraggled.

 

Who are those masked men??

Actually, I don’t even know how many times I looked at this picture before I figured out that it’s Toby and his friend, and not Toby and Mason. Those masks work better than I thought!

 

That’s all for now, but only because I want to post some more pictures, and they are all on my camera.

In the meantime, check out this link if you haven’t already seen this puppy fake his own death. That’s funny, right there, I don’t care who you are…….

Leave a Reply

