The Mother Ship has landed


When I found out that my husband had been offered a job in Huntsville, AL, the first thing I did was jump for joy. The second thing I did was check to see where the closest JoAnn Fabrics was, so that I knew which part of town I needed to search for housing. Much to my dismay, Huntsville had no JoAnn Fabrics. Gasp! I quite honestly didn’t know if I’d be able to move.

 



Of course, we did move. For the past couple of years, I’ve had to satisfy my JoAnn’s itch with random trips to Ohio and Texas – no matter the reason for the trip, there was no way I wasn’t going to visit JoAnn’s while I was so close! I’ve been slumming at Hobby Lobby and Hancock Fabrics, but it just hasn’t been the same. There are even a couple of quilt stores in town, but since quilting is not my primary craft, I never really made an effort to visit those stores.

 



Well, late last year, I drove about 90 minutes west to a JoAnn’s, and while I was there, the manager told me that a new store would be opening in Huntsville. My heart sang!!! Since the store is just around the corner from work, I’ve been keeping an eye on it ever since they installed the “coming soon!” sign. I had heard that it was opening in March, so I was wonderfully surprised when I saw the “now open!” sign last Thursday. The people in front of me – also surprised when I almost rear-ended them while gawking at the store.

 



I finally got to visit the new store yesterday, and I’m telling you, it was a madhouse! Or at least as mad as a bunch of crafters can get. Who am I kidding? Those shoppers were out for blood! The employees all looked sort of shell shocked. I heard two of them trying to decide what a tape-runner was, and where it would be. I had several coupons and a gift card, and I was determined to use them all, so I stayed mostly on the edges of the store, in the yarn and scrapbooking sections. I managed to sneak into the book section long enough to grab a book that I’ve been pining for, and I snagged a couple of knitting magazines, too. And then I got the heck out of there, before someone mugged me for my coupons!

 



I’m so glad that the store has finally opened! I see many lunch hour visits in my future. Anyone want to meet me for coffee and JoAnn’s?

 


One thought on “The Mother Ship has landed

  1. Alas, your time has come! I am also glad you were unhurt in your foray since it appears you’ve been living in a bit of a crafting wasteland…no wonder the crafters and the staff at JoAnn’s were so wound up. I can only imagine the beautiful creations you will whip up with ready access. And yes, I’d love to join you for coffee and shopping.

Leave a Reply

