It’s like deja-vu all over again

So, the weather gurus have issued a winter storm warning for tonight, which means that school will probably be cancelled for tomorrow.  The snow isn’t due until midnight, or so, and it isn’t supposed to get cold enough for anything to freeze, so I’m hopeful that the school powers-that-be will actually wait until the morning to make a decision on cancellation.  Since the schools didn’t incorporate snow days into their schedule, like the northern states do, the kids now have 4 days to make up.   I know it seems like fun when there are snowmen to be built, and snow balls to be thrown, but snow days are really a big pain in the butt.

In other news, I FINALLY got all of my handmade goodies shipped out to their respective recipients…  and totally forgot to take pictures of anything.  For my dad, I made a 3X3 ribbed scarf out of Hobby Lobby’s “I Love this Yarn!”, which is 100% acrylic, but actually quite nice to work with.  I also made him a pair of slippers, from the same yarn, with this pattern, sort of.  I didn’t want to knit one row, then purl one row around the toe section because I’m lazy, and because I don’t like using row markers on double-pointed needles, so I just knit all rounds until it was the right size, and also threw in some decreases every so often.  Don’t ask me where, because there’s no way I could duplicate it.

For my mom, I made this scarf.  The yarn I used was a red wine sort of color, bamboo and silk blend, sooo soft.  The scarf is knit in two halves, then grafted together using the Kitchener stitch.  Let me tell you – I don’t think I could successfully accomplish the Kitchener stitch if my life depended on it.  It looked nothing like it was supposed to, and I was so frustrated, I just ended up doing a two-needle bind-off, which leaves a big seam, and also me with my sanity.

My sister had asked me to make her some socks, and I just made a basic sock using the Yarn Harlot’s sock recipe.   Several years ago, she (Stephanie Purl-McPhee) had appeared on Vickie Howell’s HGTV show, Knitty Gritty, and shared her sock recipe.   I probably printed it from the HGTV website 7 or 8 times.  Could I find one of those print outs when I was trying to make my sister’s socks?  No, I could not.  I ended up buying her book  (which I will one day actually read from cover to cover) and managed to get those socks knit with almost no drama.  I used self striping yarn, so of course the socks don’t match exactly.  Even though I could have found the more-or-less same spot in the yarn color pattern, I was more worried about running out of yarn than the socks matching.

Phew!  That was a lot of knitting.  And it only took me five months to get it all done!  Well, maybe more like six….  but now I’m ready to tackle something a little more challenging, and maybe even have a stash of gifts ready for next year.  I’ve been thinking and planning and digging through my yarn stash.  (Which naturally has nothing that I can use, all of it either the wrong weight, wrong fiber content, or just not enough, so I’ll have to go yarn shopping.  Funny how that works out.)

Did anyone else get or make home made gifts?  What were they?

One thought on “It’s like deja-vu all over again

  1. I must have been very good last year, because I got several handmade gifts. I got some beautiful decorated notecards in an embroidered cloth case from a special friend. 🙂 Also, my mother-in-law made a purse for me. We picked out the fabric together and she finished it just a few days ago. It’s wonderful when Christmas lasts into January. I can’t forget to mention that I my husband made me a stained glass windchime. The main part is a grey cat and the chimes are colorful fish.
    I wish I were as creative as you, but I did make some homemade cakes (chocolate and lemon) for a few friends. Overall, I was happy with myself for getting some store-bought cards out before Christmas. Maybe next year I’ll get struck by a bolt of creative lightening. 🙂

Leave a Reply

