I’ll send an SOS to the world

First, go read this blog post. Go ahead, I’ll wait.

 

Okay, did you read it? Do you agree? I do.

 

When I first moved away from home, I wrote a lot of letters. I lived by myself, I was 2000 miles from home, and email had barely scratched the surface of all that it is used for today. I wrote letters to just about anyone whose address I had remembered to bring with me. A lot of those people even wrote back.

 

One of my good friends was in England at the time, having won some sort of scholarship or grant for a semester abroad, and she would send long, involved letters about what she did that day, the things that she saw, the food that she tried, the fact that afternoon tea might just be the best thing ever. I could imagine her, tucking her hair behind her ears, chewing on her thumbnail, and sitting down to relay every last detail that she could wring out of her day. I still have those letters, and I get them out to read every once in awhile. She was a great letter writer. When I read the letters, it’s almost like I was there. We lost touch over the years, and our contact has dwindled to a few short emails, once or twice a year. It’s sad, really. I know that people are busy and email is easy, but it just isn’t as satisfying as a letter.

 

So, are you in? Want to be my pen pal?

 

2 thoughts on “I’ll send an SOS to the world

  1. The friend you described in your blog seems like such a stranger to me. Maybe “estranged” fits better. I remember that person who loved to write all of the time, whether it be letters, postcards, notes, poetry or journal entries, but I haven’t heard from her in a long time. Nor have you. Blogging isn’t the same. As the author of your linked post states, a blog is a “letter to everyone.” Well, honestly, one doesn’t share and confide the same way to everyone as they do to one friend at a time.
    So, I will take up her challenge. I am officially committing to sending you a postcard at the least. Written to you alone. Umm, could you email me your snail mail address?
    Signed,

    Your new pen pal

  2. Thanks for this post! I liked the poem and I feel the exact same way. I got my first set of stationary as a gift in middle school and wrote lots of letters to everyone I knew. I still have all my old letters, cards. Today, I have a large picnic basket filled with blank cards and cute stationary. I often think about writing you and other friends, but I question what is worth writing about. As long as you don’t mind hearing about the monotony of daily life, I would love to be your pen pal.

Leave a Reply

