The sincerest form of flattery


When I started this blog, I think I have mentioned, I had visions of sending crafty goodness out into the e-world, gaining thousands of followers, a book deal, a TV show, and de-throning Martha. Okay, maybe not quite that far, but still… I did actually intend to post a lot of crafty projects. The thing is, I sort of feel like a fraud when I post things that I’ve made, because I don’t think I’ve ever actually created anything from scratch. I always start with someone else’s idea/pattern/tutorial, and that feels like cheating. If I’m going to put something out there for the world to see, I want it to be wholly my own. Which is silly, because I’m not a designer, I’m a copier. (Just call me Xerox, ha!) Is imitation really the sincerest form of flattery? Or is it just copyright infringement looking for a place to happen?

 



When I give something away that I’ve made, I always hope that they will like it, but in the back of my mind, I’m always prepared for the recipient to oooh and aaah over it, and then promptly shove it in the back of the closet when I’m not around. Now, before you decide that I’m just paranoid/have low self esteem, let me tell you that this did indeed happen to me once:

 



Several years ago, I decided that I would make a scarf for someone for Christmas. We lived in Spokane, WA, where a scarf is necessary about 6 months out of the year. I snuck around, crocheting when I knew I wouldn’t get caught. It wasn’t a fancy scarf by any means, but I crocheted a lot of love into it. Well, Christmas rolled around, and we decided that we would open one gift early. Of course, I passed out the scarf because I was so proud of it, and I’d spent so long working on it.

 



And then.

 



And then it was opened, and it was thrown onto the table, and I was asked – didn’t you get me that other thing? I was crushed. So I took the scarf back, and wore it myself, and ever since then, I’ve been rather leery of giving things away. No matter who it’s for – or even if I’m hoping that I can sell it – I work a lot of love into the things that I make, and I don’t think I can stand the heart break if something like that happens again.

 



I’m not really sure where I’m going with all of this – I’m in the middle of several Christmas gifts, which I can’t show, for obvious reasons, and they all involve using someone else’s pattern, which I also can’t show, for the same obvious reasons. But I do have some things that I’ve made for gifts that I hope to mail in the next few weeks, and hopefully, I’ll be able to show you those. Also, my mom has encouraged me to make a few bags similar to the one that I made for my sister to try to sell in a craft show in November, so I’ll be able to show you those, too. I have a few other things in mind for the craft show, but right now I’m just thinking about a bag or two, and trying to remember what I have in my stash that I can use.

 



Have a good week everyone!

 


One thought on “The sincerest form of flattery

  1. OMG!!!! This is unbelieveable! (Obviously, I’m just now getting caught up on recent posts.) I have LOVED every gift you have ever made for me. I’ve liked every gift you’ve given me, but the handmade gifts are my favorite! Let me list a few that immediately come to mind. 1) You made a fabric insert for a Longaberger basket, which currently holds my notepads beside my desk. You specifically picked the fabric to match a project I was creating (a fork basket) during a Chic Clique craft day, showing how observant you are. 2) You made me an apron with a coffee pattern that hangs in my kitchen and gets used all the time. 3) You made me a set of beautifully stamped and decorated blank cards. They were so pretty that it was difficult to part with them. So, I only sent them to very special people. Karen Q. received one and immediately recognized your stamp on the back. She was impressed, too. (Hint Hint – I returned that empty card holder with the box of craft supplies in the hopes that I would recieve it back again…. refilled.)
    I am secretly (or maybe not so secretly) jealous of your craftiness. My oohs and aahs are very sincere. I don’t care if you started from someone else’s pattern or idea, the final product came from your heart! I don’t mean to sound greedy, but I hope I’m on that gift list. I could use a colorful handmade scarf, or a beautifully decorated bag, or anything cute leftover in your craft room. 🙂

Leave a Reply

