Whip it, whip it good

Way back in January, I set a goal to make Christmas presents for everyone and to have them done so far in advance of Christmas that I would actually have everything wrapped and in the mail by Thanksgiving. So, yeah. That didn’t actually happen. I did, in fact, get one thing done, and then I got distracted by birthday presents, and baseball practice, and the Thing. But I’m back on track now! Mostly.


Which leads to another dilemma: what do I make for everyone that they can use, will like, and is within my crafty grasp? This is not exactly the time to take up calligraphy, or watercolors, you know? But at the same time, I have to attempt to realistically determine how much crafting time I have before Christmas, which will hopefully help me figure out what to make for whom. It’s sort of like making Thanksgiving dinner so that everything is ready to eat at the same time: each item has to be timed exactly, with specific cooking times and oven temperatures, while at the same time setting the table, watching the game, and keeping the kitchen more or less organized, clean, and free of children, dogs, and husbands who insist on stirring, poking and tasting every dang thing. And now that I think of it, my Thanksgiving dinner never turns out like that, so I don’t know why I should be surprised that my Christmas craft-gift-making should be any different. Sigh.

 

Now, for some vintage goodness. Pay special attention to the caption:

 

 

Don’t we all?? 

From Greystone’s Creative Hands, Vol I, 1975.

Leave a Reply

