The Sound of Silence

So, I’ve been temporarily relocated at work, and this means that, not only am I far, far away from the madding crowd, but I also have my own office! Add to that the fact that I can’t log in to the network, and consequently can’t really do any work, and it’s practically paradise! Well, not really, since I will have to catch up on everything when I do get my computer situation straightened out, but in the meantime…. It’s so quiet; I hardly know what to do with myself! But I’m going to enjoy it while it lasts, that’s for sure.

 


And speaking of things that I’ve been hearing, or not hearing, as the case may be…. I think I’ve mentioned that I have a (not so) secret crush on my karate instructor? Well, it all came together for me the other day when he left me a voice mail. I had not been to class for several weeks, for a variety of reasons, and the studio likes to call the students and see if they are dropping out or planning on coming back or moved to Canada. I was actually in Toby’s and Mason’s class when he called, which is why there was a voice mail. So to make a long story short — he sounds just like Christian Slater! Okay, so now I have to tell you another story.

 


When I worked for the Air Force in Spokane, WA, lo these many years ago, there was a man who several of us were crushing on for the sole reason that he sounded like Christian Slater. We’d find any excuse* to call him, just to listen to his voice. He wasn’t unattractive, but neither was he movie star good-looking. Tall, bald, bespectacled. (Hmmm, my karate instructor is short, bald and bespectacled. I’m sensing a trend.) He was the quintessential nice guy. None of us actually wanted to date him; we just wanted to listen to his velvety voice. This brings me back to my instructor. I think I could quite happily listen to him read the phone book. And just like that, my crush is explained! I mean, come on, wouldn’t you like to imagine that the man on the other end of the line is actually Christian Slater?

 

One thought on “The Sound of Silence

Leave a Reply

