A book review, and then some kvetching

     I just finished “The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society”. I’d seen it everywhere, and on every list. Then, the last time I was at the library, it hopped into my pile o’ books – which was no mean feat, let me tell you, the pile was rather large. Anyway, I finished it in two days, and it was wonderful! First thing in its favor – its written as letters and telegrams. I love books like that – epistolary, they’re called, but it seems somewhat pretentious to use that word. (Actually, using the word “pretentious” seems pretentious…..) It’s almost like reading a diary – I love books written in that style, too. Most of the letters are written by Juliet, an author, who is trying to decide what to write next, and the people of Guernsey, an island in the English Channel that was occupied by the Nazis during WWII. It takes place just after the war has ended. It’s very charming, and as soon as I finished it, I Googled Guernsey to see how much it would cost to take a vacation there.

 

     An aside on the vacation subject (sort of) – if you’ve ever been to Europe, did you notice that the whole atmosphere seems more, I don’t know, settled? As if Germany is an old grandma, happy to look out her window, baking bread, having a drink with friends in the afternoon in the garden? Whereas the US is like the frantic 20-something, full of self-importance, something of a know-it-all, and really sort of annoying? It’s hard to put a finger on. There is history here, of course, but it’s a different kind. Sometimes I feel like the whole country needs to just take a breath, have a sit down, relax. Have afternoon tea. Take a siesta. Drink a beer. Maybe I should book those tickets to Guernsey!

 

     I know I’ve kvetched about the noise at work before, and I hate to keep on about it, but…. Today was almost too much. The two most heinous culprits were on the same telecon today, both talking far louder than was required, both so irritatingly pick, pick, picking away at my patience that I thought I might actually throw something. I have a lot of pencils that I could sharpen into darts, and rubber-bands that I could fashion into a sling shot. Thank goodness that I have Thursday and Friday off, because otherwise, I’d have to start pouring something stronger than coffee into my travel mug in the mornings.

 

     Speaking of days off – posting is likely to be even more spotty than usual as I attempt to get ready for Christmas, but I’ll try to update with pictures and anything crafty that I’ve managed to finish before wrapping.

 

Happy Thanksgiving everyone!

One thought on “A book review, and then some kvetching

  1. I find your observations on the lifestyles of Europe vs the US rather humorous. I lived in Europe for 4 years and let me tell you the snail paced lifestyle was not to my liking. No malls or supercenters. No shopping before 10 am, from 12 pm to 2 pm, after 7 pm, or on Sundays (did I mention lunch time is usually a good time to run errands?..not possible in Europe). Want to dine at a popular place? Good luck, turning tables is a foreign concept. You could nurse a cup of coffee all day and you wouldn’t be encouraged to wrap it up and move on. Got the munchies after a late night? Most resturants closed by 10pm. I missed Waffle House, ha. Nothing is open 24 hrs for your convenience. Oh yea and you best have dough, cause no credit cards accepted..anywhere.

    It’s a wonder businesses managed to stay afloat. I remember muttering that to myself over and over many a time during those days. An American living in Europe is a bit like putting a whale in a pool. LoL. Darn those Europeans and their lazy ways.

Leave a Reply

