I fought the yarn, and the yarn won

Some friends of mine had a baby recently.  He was about 3 1/2 pounds when  he was born – there was a knot in the umbilical cord, and so he wasn’t growing.  He’s gained almost a pound in the 3 weeks since he’s been born, which is wonderful news.  For a gift, I was contemplating a hat and booties.  I found some great patterns on ravelry, and so here’s what I’ve made (so far):

The booties are tiny, I could wear them for thimbles, they are so small.  But they were so simple and quick, I’m thinking about making several dozen more.  🙂

Next Sunday, I am going with a group of girlfriends to see “New Moon”, which, unless you live in a cave, you know is the next movie in the Twilight saga.  Honestly, I couldn’t care less about the movie (plus I read the book, and I hated the ending), but I’m glad to get to go out with the girls.  There’s going to be a limo!  And Thai food!  I would go for those two things, alone.  Hopefully, since we are going to the first showing on Sunday afternoon, the number of shrieking teenaged girls will be small.   I’m looking forward to it, just to get out of the house for the afternoon!

Awhile back, I posted about craftily paying it forward.  I haven’t done that yet (among many, many other things on my list).  I could tell you that I was sidetracked by the booties (kinda true), or the Frankenstein costume (also kinda true).

halloween

But the truth is, the blogger who paid it forward to me makes and sends out such wonderful things, that I’m actually sort of embarrassed to send anything out, especially to her, since I promised to pay back her pay it forward.  I mean, who doesn’t love getting something besides bills in the mail?  So, I’m stuck.   And I need to get my act together and send something because it’s almost Thanksgiving, which means that it’s almost Christmas, which means I’m due to spontaneously combust any day now.

Which reminds me, I have a sweater for Mason I’m supposed to be knitting…..

2 thoughts on “I fought the yarn, and the yarn won

Leave a Reply

