It’s Fall!

Now that the sweater is finished, I’m moving on to hand warmers.   Because seriously – my fingernails are blue, and it isn’t my nail polish.  I was all wrapped around the axle with the thumb gusset, and that’s the reason I hadn’t started them (that’s my story, and I’m sticking to it).  But then I found another blog  (www.crazyauntpurl.com) where the author made some hand warmers by knitting a rectangle, seaming it up the long side – leaving a hole for the thumb.  How dumb do I feel?  Soooo dumb!  After fondling all of the yarn in my not insubstantial stash, I settled on “I love this cotton” from Hobby Lobby.  I initially bought it for my continuing obsession with all things dish rag, but it’s so soft, it seems sort of criminal to wash dishes with it.  Hopefully, it will keep my hands super warm, and then I’ll have to find something new to complain about at work. 

handwarmer

 

It’s been officially Fall for a couple of weeks now, and I love it!  Fall is my favorite season, and now that I’ve escaped the Fifth Circle of Hell, I can actually enjoy it again.  I can get out my long sleeves and thick socks for entire months rather than just a few odd days in January (which I know is actually winter, but there are only 2 seasons in TFCOH:  earth scorchingly hot and January).  I love everything about Fall – leaves crunching on the ground, the smell in the air, rosy cheeks, snuggling under blankets, big pots of chili.  Time to start baking bread and cookies, throwing big roasts in the oven, picking apples and carving pumpkins.  Love.  It. 

 

I skipped karate on Monday night, and I feel like a total slug.  I was expecting to do some wild and crazy partying while the kids are visiting my parents, but let me tell you, wild and crazy I am not.  The wildest thing I did was have grapes and Chex mix for dinner.  Tonight, I might have string cheese and apples for dinner!   Really.  Somebody better stop me before I get totally out of control.

 tomatoes

The tomato plants are STILL growing.  Clearly, they have not received the memo re: Fall.  They are looking considerably more straggly, probably due to a number of things, not the least of which is the sheer weight of the top of the plants.  But we’ve been getting rain on and off for the past couple of weeks, so I expect I’ll be out there hacking through the tomato jungle at least a few more times before we have a freeze.  I’m tempted to just pull them up, but they worked so hard this summer, I hate to punish them for producing too many tomatoes.  That just seems cruel.

 

Happy Fall everyone!!

Leave a Reply

