Crafts-n-things

Why do some men insist on hanging testicles from their pick-up trucks?  If that isn’t overcompensation at its finest, I don’t know what is.  I mean really, the huge black truck with extra shiny rims, tinted windows, pin-up mud flaps, and gun rack isn’t enough?  The testicles are really necessary?  Because they look ridiculous.  I’m actually tempted to kick them every time I see them, half expecting the truck to double over in pain, with its rear tires wrapped protectively around the hitch, spraying wiper fluid like tears, and whining like it needs a new fan belt.  Where does one buy those things, anyway?  The “adults only” section at the auto parts store?   And do those men drive their mothers around in their trucks?  Honestly. (eye roll)

 

Now that I’ve finally managed to deliver this birthday gift to its intended recipient, I can post the pictures of what I’ve been working on the past few weeks:

I started with a round box and cards, but the circle theme just wasn’t working for me.  I also could not find any envelopes that would fit into the round box as well as around the circular cards.  So I started over.  I’m happy with the result, and have considered opening an etsy shop and selling them, but given the time it takes me to get a set finished, I don’t know that I’d ever even have one to put in the shop!

 

Speaking of etsy, it is a website where one can buy TONS of handmade and vintage/antique items.  I haven’t done a lot of research on it, but it appears as if a seller posts whatever they happen to have available to sell.  Some take orders, some just sell when they have something ready.  I don’t know what the terms are, as far as how much the artist pays for the privilege of having a storefront, but it’s rather tempting.  Especially since my sister gave me a book of knit stitches for my birthday, and I think dishrags would lend themselves rather well to practice pieces.  🙂

One thought on “Crafts-n-things

  1. I’m with you on the truck testicles. I used to detest the occasional bull horns on the front grill, but now they seem quaint in comparison.

    Your ideas for cards are always so creative. I only shared my set with very special people, who would enjoy them as much I did. Keep that crafty brain active!

Leave a Reply

