Hi-YA!

The Five Rules of Karate:

 

1.  Respect the Dojo

 

2.  Respect the Sensei

 

3.  Wax-on, wax-off is not one of the moves they teach

 

4.  Neither is painting the fence

 

5.  Do not wear stripey underwear with your white karate uniform

 

Those are all things I just learned the hard way when I went to my first karate class yesterday.  I’m mobile today, but just barely.  There are two classes: one for beginners and one for advanced.  The advanced class fit better in my schedule, so I went last night, expecting to see some other adults, hopefully of the female persuasion.  WRONG!  Evidently “advanced adult” means “high school boys”.  Umm, awkward!  Luckily, they were all very sweet and did not point and laugh — at least not while I was looking.  They’ve obviously all been in the class together for awhile, though, because they seemed very comfortable with the instructor and each other.  I’m going to go back, but I might try the beginner class, which will probably be full of junior high boys.  Sigh.

 

Tomorrow is the 4th of July!  The boys shot off a bunch of fire works in the back yard lasy night because they could not stand to wait one more second.  (And because their father told them we’d just go get some more.)   We’ve invited some friends over for BBQ and fireworks tomorrow, and I’m looking forward to it, even though it means we have to clean the house today.  And I really do mean “we”.  The boys have been threatened with non-replenishment of the fireworks if they don’t help.  Of course, that will still mean much cajoling and threatening, and time in the corner, but in the end the house will be clean.

 

Have a safe and happy 4th, everyone!!!

Leave a Reply

