Grammar Queen

A pox on whomever is responsible for the new Dr. Pepper slogan.

 

 “Drink Dr. Pepper slow”

 

Slow-LY.  Slow-LY.

 

You see, “to drink” is a verb, and verbs are modified by adverbs, which generally, but not always, end in “ly”.  Therefore, one drinks “slowly”, not “slow”.  Unless, of course, “slow” is the name of a drink.  As in “sloe gin fizz”.  The spelling of which leads me to another grammar issue:  there, their and they’re. 

 

There is a location – “I put my glasses over there.”

 

Their is a possessive pronoun – “Where are their glasses?”

 

They’re is a contraction of they and are – “They’re sitting on my glasses.”

 

I have seen elementary school teachers use these words incorrectly, which makes me fear for the children she teaches. 

 

The Dr. Pepper commercial actually hurts my ears.  It makes me feel like I’ve bitten down on a piece of tin foil.  And I despair that the only people who seem to consistently speak using proper grammar learned English from someone other than their native English speaking parent!  Truly, I learned more about grammar when I was taking German than I ever did in high school.   Sigh.  So am I a snob?  Probably.  But I can live with it.

 

Now, you’ll have to excuse me.  I have a strawberry limeade, and I plan on drinking it slowly.

2 thoughts on “Grammar Queen

  1. We’re seeing more of these kinds of errors lately, because (as you point out) teachers and media (singers, musicians, newscasters, businesses, etc.) make them, so the kids learning from them don’t know any better. It seems that the AP isn’t using editors much anymore. Of course, in this age of instant media, who has time for editing? So frustrating! I was playing Apples to Apples with a group of editors last night, and one of the cards used “surprising” where it should have used “surprisingly” (repeatedly).

  2. Hey, Ms Gwendy! I do so agree with you. Have you read “Eats, Shoots, and Leaves?” If not, let me send it to you. It made me feel empowered to comment on the state of modern grammar. My Dad was an editor, so words and grammar were his LIFE. No baby-talk when I was growing up….no allowing us kiddies to get to junior high saying such cutesy words as “lightling,” or “pasgetti,” or, God forbid, “nucular!”
    Alas, my beloved GA Public Radio has slid into American slang with such sentences as, “None of the 3,000 inhabitants of the area were found alive,” and one of my personal tinfoil-in-the- teeth statements, “All 150 guests at the motel were evacuated.” That’s a lot of enemas [!]….sure hope the fire department set up enough porta-potties!!!! In the old days, all writers and editors had very well-worn style manuals on their desks….guess it’s now too much trouble to get it right, or wright, or write.

    Carry on, Ms Gwendy, we’re behind you!!!!

Leave a Reply

