You could win!!

I started reading “The Hour I First Believed”, and to be honest, it took me awhile to get into it.  Not because it’s a bad book – it was just sort of hard to read the stuff about Columbine, which included transcripts of videos the two boys made, as well as actual journal entries, and it just overwhelmed me a little.  But I soldiered on, and the story is about so much more than Columbine.  I’m at the point now where I’m reading almost faster then my brain can keep up, so that I have to occasionally go back and read something again to make sure that I got it.  The story is so good, I can’t wait to get to the end, but I know that when I get there, I’ll be sad that there is no more story.  I stayed up way too late last night reading and paid for it this morning.  Yawn!!

 

I had to take Mason for his four-year-old check up today, which included 4 shots.  I’m sure the people in the other rooms thought we were actually sawing his legs off instead of giving him shots, the way he screamed and thrashed.  The poor nurse who did the injections tried really hard to help me keep him still, but she was a little old lady, and not very quick with the needles, so I think the agony went on a little longer than necessary.  But that’s probably just me.  He’s fine now, and probably isn’t hurting at all, but will remember the minute he changes his clothes for bed tonight.  He also had to give a urine sample, but I didn’t explain what was going on, so he ran into the bathroom and dropped his drawers immediately, and I had to grab a cup and shove it in front of him before I even got the bathroom door closed.  And then the specimen cup did not have a screw on lid, but a weird cardboard lid that was supposed to somehow fit down inside the lip of the cup, which I managed to push just a little too hard so that I got pee all over my hand.  Luckily there was still some in the cup, or I don’t know what we would have done.  Peed in it myself, I suppose.

 

We’ve been having tornado watches/warnings for the past week or so, and it’s gotten sort of boring, what with the swine flu and all.  The schools were all closed last Thursday and Friday, while they waited for the test results for a couple of kids.  The county schools are open again, except for one elementary that had a confirmed case (not ours, thank goodness!).  The city elementary schools are closed until 14 May, which is crazy.   I think they had one confirmed case, and a couple of probable cases, but regardless (irregardless is not a word, look it up), it’s like the black plague has hit.   Baseball practice and all the games were cancelled as well, but since it monsooned for most of the weekend, I’m sure the games would have been cancelled anyway.  Oh my goodness, oh my goodness, the swine flu, eek!!  But don’t panic, it’s important that we don’t panic. 

 

I turned the heel on my sock!  Naturally, I had to unravel and re-knit thirty or forty times, and there is still a hole where there shouldn’t be a hole, but at least it isn’t a dropped stitch, and so it won’t ravel out.   I was working on this particular sock for my husband, but he said that he didn’t think it would fit anyway, which is probably true (he has freakishly large calves), and so now I’m less inclined to finish it.  But I worked so hard on that heel!!  I’ll finish this one, but I may have to put the rest of the yarn aside and make some more dishrags since they are quick and mistakes aren’t a big deal since no one wears dishrags.  Plus, Michael’s had their cotton yarn on sale a few weeks ago, and actually had a good selection of colors, so I have plenty of yarn to keep me in dishrags for years.  Anyone else need one??  Send me a note, I’ll send you a dishrag.  Once you go knit, you never go…  okay, wait, what rhymes with “knit”?  I know!  Once you go cotton, you never have rotten (smelling dishes).  Umm, no.   Wait, wait….  mini contest!!  Whoever sends me the best jingle for the use of knit dishrags will get TWO!!!  Now that’s something to make the trek to the mailbox for!!  Contest ends Friday….  Seriously, I’ll even get a panel of impartial judges (Toby and Mason), and we’ll vote.   Just comment on this post.  It will be groovy!!  🙂

Leave a Reply

