When the frost is on the punkin’

Here it is, the day before Thanksgiving, and we’re all supposed to be cleaning the house and getting ready for my parents and sister to arrive later tonight.  Instead, the boys are playing with the puppy, my husband is laying in bed watching something he DVR’d from HBO, and I’m hiding in the kids’ room, on the computer.  It’s early, I’m sure we’ll get everything done in plenty of time.  Although I’d really just like to climb back in bed and sleep another couple of hours.  Sigh.

 

Am I cute, or what?

Am I cute, or what?

Have you ever bought supplies for something specific, like chocolate cake, and then discovered that someone has used all the eggs for something else?  Only you don’t find out until you get to the part in the recipe that says “add eggs”?  I have a feeling that something like this is going to happen today.  Although I’m not entirely sure that I have everything I need, I am convinced that something I should have hidden is going to end up as lunch today, despite my best intentions to leave it for dinner on Friday. 
Meanwhile, I still have laundry to do, paperwork to take to a new day care, a scarf to finish knitting, dish towels to embroider, dishes to wash, and………  If I start now, I’ll be done in time to take a nice long nap this afternoon.  Right?!?!?!?
2 thoughts on “When the frost is on the punkin’

  1. I can’t count the number of mornings I have thought to myself while locking the front door, I know I’m forgetting something. Then I stop and ponder for a moment. Sometimes I think of ‘it’, but mostly I only realize what ‘it’ is when I need ‘it’ most. 🙂

  2. I think you have done a wonderful job of capturing the moments. Nothing is quite as funny when it is happening as when you look back at it and realize those kinds of things really do happen. Life is funny that way. One of my favorite authors, Erma Bombeck, wrote so many true to life books on just the things that you have listed. Keep your collections intact and maybe some day you also will have chapter after chapter of real to life memories.

Leave a Reply

